top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

week 5: a tourist in Seoul

My idea was to use the data I collected, being the number of steps I took per day and the number of photos I took per day. This would evaluate whether I was taking advantage of being a tourist in the city, by trying to see as much of the city and do as much and record what I saw.

I had both pieces of data and made a sketch of what I wanted to achieve. I wanted to have black boxes representing the steps like a staircase but in a creative way, similar to some data visualisation i had researched.

An example of data visualisation, inspiring me to use the aesthetic of the black boxes.

My sketch of what I planned to create.

My tutor advised me that the steps actually looked like photos, and I understood this would have been difficult to understand as being steps, because we see photos set out like this in software everywhere now and so people would not have connected this to meaning exercise in any way.

So I decided to change that so that the rectangles were actually the photos. I wanted to show that the steps were exercise, so i decided that i would have a drawing of a man and the amount of sweat droplets on his head would represent how much exercise I had done. It was a bit of a risk, as it is quite weird symbolism for what i was trying to represent, but i liked the idea.

I had huge problems with trying to make the black boxes appear as they are, and it turned out that i had an extra semi-colon that i did not see until deadline had passed. I understood the data entry and creating and separating strings as well as arrays, but i think my skills aren't advanced enough to produce the visuals i was looking to produce, I think i set myself too hard a job to do create what i wanted to do which made this task really difficult for me, and i had to enlist some help from friends who know Java, which was annoying.

I could not see how I would put the right amount droplets on the man's head in the area of his head, and i did not have enough time to correct this so I ended up having the sweat droplets next to the squares in a diagonal.

It doesn't make a lot of sense with the droplets like this which is a shame. I would like to work on this more to improve it alongside my skills with some more time.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1aF7a8vBHAOwl1DiXLXhIi_JM61I1HS3-

bottom of page